Location Information
(for the Brownrigg-Harris-Kennebrew House)
Name:Brownrigg-Harris-Kennebrew House ["Temple Heights"]
Address:515 9th Street, North
City/County:Columbus, Lowndes County
Architectural Information
Construction Date:1837
Architectural Styles(s):Federal, Greek Revival
No. of Stories:4
Registration Information
NR Listing Date:22 May 1978
View National Register Nomination Form
Mississippi Landmark Information
Book/Vol. No.:V. 866, p. 90
A significant and (for Mississippi) unique interpretation of the Greek Revival temple-form house. Its style is derived from the c.1854 addition of a giant-order Doric portico to the rear and to the two principal elevations of an earlier vernacular house built by Richard T. Brownrigg in 1837. The original two-story frame house, with its inset gallery and broken slope gable roof on the rear, its exterior end brick chimneys, and its side-hall plan with three entrances, is a form more commonly associated with Brownrigg's native eastern North Carolina than Mississippi. The structure thus appears to be a conscious attempt to reproduce a familiar form. Brownrigg, a successful planter and one of the earliest settlers in the vicinity of Columbus, moved his family from Chowan County, North Carolina, in 1835. [HABS: MS-86 (1936)]