Location Information
(for the Jones County Courthouse)
Name:Jones County Courthouse
Address:415 5th Avenue, North
City/County:Laurel, Jones County
Architectural Information
Construction Date:1907-08
Architectural Styles(s):Beaux Arts, Art Deco, Modern
No. of Stories:2
Registration Information
NR District Name:Laurel Central (1987)
    NR Status:Contributing
    Element No.:52
Mississippi Landmark Information
Book/Vol. No.:V. 946, p. 344
Local Designation Information
Local District Name:Laurel Central Historic District
click here for additional information on this district.
Designed by architect P.J. Krouse of Meridian, the Jones County Courthouse in Laurel was built in 1908. It was enlarged in 1936 under the direction of architects N.W. Overstreet and A.H. Town of Jackson. Before its enlargement, it had the same design as the Jones County Courthouse in Ellisville. Although Mississippi has ten counties with dual county seats, Jones County is the only county with “identical twin” courthouses.

The courthouse is included as a contributing element (element #52) in the Laurel Central Historic District, which was placed on the National Register on 4 September 1987. It was designated a Mississippi Landmark on 25 February 1987.

The building is included in "Mississippi Courthouses, Then and Now" (1987), "The Majesty of Eastern Mississippi and the Coast" (2004) (p. 67), and "Buildings of Mississippi" (2020) (pp. 307, PW11).