Location Information
(for the Amos Deason House)
Name:Amos Deason House
Address:410 Deason Street, North
City/County:Ellisville, Jones County
Architectural Information
Construction Date:c.1850
Architectural Styles(s):Greek Revival
No. of Stories:1
Registration Information
NR Listing Date:05 Jul 1984
View National Register Nomination Form
Mississippi Landmark Information
Designated:08-23-2000
Recorded:08-31-2000
Book/Vol. No.:V. 515, p. 45
Context/Comments
The Amos Deason House is one of Mississippi's most unique expressions of vernacular Greek Revival architecture. Stylistically, the house dates from 1855 to 1860. The house derives its significance from its unusual architectural character, from its historical association with the murder of Confederate Army office Major Amos McLemore, and from its long history of family ownership. The semi-octagonal, well-detailed entrance vestible is the only one of its kind known to exist in Mississippi. The simulated rusticated stone treatment of the fa├žade and side elevations, while not unique, is unusual and well-executed. The plan of the house with its central two-room block and side "cabinet" rooms is a floor plan not yet associated with any other house in the state. Considered to be the oldest house in Ellisville, the Amos Deason House remains the home of Deason descendants.