Location Information
(for the Jones County Courthouse)
Name:Jones County Courthouse
Address:101 North Court Street
City/County:Ellisville, Jones County
Architectural Information
Construction Date:1907-08
No. of Stories:2
Registration Information
NR Listing Date:10 Nov 1994
View National Register Nomination Form
Mississippi Landmark Information
Book/Vol. No.:V. 294, p. 456
The Jones County Courthouse at Ellisville is significant both for its architecture and for is association with politics and government. Built in 1908, the Courthouse is a locally important work of early twentieth century Classical Revival architecture, and is a well-executed and well-maintained example of the Classical Revival county courthouses built in Mississippi between about 1901 and 1920. It is the only notable example of Classical Revival architecture in Ellisville and is the town's principal architectural landmark. In addition to its architectural significance, the courthouse is significant in the area of politics and government for being the seat of justice for the First Judicial District of Jones County from the building's completion in 1908. Jones County is one of ten counties in Mississippi that have two county seats; but it is the only one of those ten that has "twin" courthouses -- the courthouse in Ellisville and the courthouse in Laurel have the same original design.